How much is a midwife home birth in Texas?

How much is a midwife home birth in Texas?

$3,000- $5,000. This cash price Includes prenatal care, homebirth and postpartum care (the total fee for your midwife). This fee is set on a sliding scale, and you choose the amount your family can afford. This allows more Austin families to access homebirth services.

Are doulas legal in Texas?

As there is no licensure or legal criteria to qualify as a doula, the range of training and services offered is varied. However, doulas do not have the legal authority to perform clinical assessments or tasks.

Can nurse midwives practice independently in Texas?

Can CNMs practice independently? Independent: No requirement for a written collaborative agreement, no supervision, no conditions for practice, may follow a statutorily required period of practice under a collaborative/supervisory agreement.

How do I become a licensed midwife in Texas?

To become a licensed midwife in Texas, an applicant has to have graduated from a Texas state approved school, and pass the Texas state examination (NARM exam), or already be a NARM Certified Professional Midwives. Applicants must also pass an on-line course on Texas midwifery rules and regulations.

Is there a shortage of midwives?

The Royal College of Midwives (RCM) has welcomed the State of the World’s Midwifery (SoWMy) 2021 report, which shows the progress made to maternity services as well as the work needed to reach suggested goals and prevent 4.3 million deaths per year by 2030.

Is there a midwife program in the state of Texas?

Midwives: One Year Update. In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 202, which transferred the Midwives program from the Department of State Health Services to the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (TDLR).

How do I contact the Texas midwives Advisory Board?

If you have questions or need assistance, please call (800) 803-9202 between 7:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. CDT or email The Midwives Advisory Board met November 8, 2021 via videoconference.

How do I find information about licensing and regulation of midwives?

For information concerning Certified Nurse-Midwives (CNMs), who are not regulated by TDLR, contact either the Texas Board of Nursing or the American College of Nurse-Midwives. For information concerning licensing and regulation of birthing centers, contact the Department of State Health Services’ Facility Licensing Group.