Who was the WWE Champion in 2014?

Who was the WWE Champion in 2014?

Championship Holders over time

Champion Date of Reign | Time Held
Brock Lesnar Aug 17, 2014 – Mar 29, 2015 223 days
John Cena Jun 29, 2014 – Aug 17, 2014 49 days
Daniel Bryan Apr 6, 2014 – Jun 9, 2014 63 days
Randy Orton Oct 27, 2013 – Apr 6, 2014 160 days

Why did they change the WWE Championship belt?

Being current and reflective of the times is what makes the new belt so great. Gritty and real, the darker colors reflect a more serious champion. That’s what the WWE is striving for, gritty and real, a title meant for more serious wrestlers. Even in the PG Era, the WWE champion isn’t a joke.

When did the WWE Championship belt change?

In March 1998, after Stone Cold Steve Austin became champion, he was presented with a new design, often dubbed the “Big Eagle” or “Attitude Era” championship belt. The center plate was similar to the previous design, but became fully rounded, and the side plates were updated.

Who are the current WWE belt holders?

Both titles are held by Roman Reigns, who is recognized as the Undisputed WWE Universal Champion. In his fourth reign as WWE Champion, he won the title by defeating Brock Lesnar on April 3, 2022, on Night 2 of WrestleMania 38 in a Winner Takes All match to claim both championships.

Why was the big gold belt retired?

The Big Gold Belt left with Flair due to a dispute with WCW Vice President Jim Herd in which Herd refused to return Flair’s $25,000 deposit, a deposit per regulations that was required of reigning NWA World Heavyweight Champions and was to be returned after the conclusion of their reigns.

Who changed the WWE belt?

WWE found a new crown for its latest king, giving Brock Lesnar the latest version of its championship belt, one that bears the current WWE logo.

When did the WWE get rid of the spinner belt?

The belt was retired in 1998 when WWE updated their Intercontinental and World Championships. A similar design made a comeback in 2011 and was used on a white strap until 2019.

Who was the WWE Champion in 2016?

Triple H Wins WWE World Heavyweight Championship at 2016 Royal Rumble. After several weeks on the shelf, Triple H made a surprising return as entrant No. 30 in the Royal Rumble match Sunday, and he outlasted 29 other Superstars to become WWE World Heavyweight champion for the ninth time.

Who won the WWE Championship in 2011?

Alberto Del Rio (New WWE Champion)