What are 5 facts about European Union?

What are 5 facts about European Union?

10 Fun Facts about the European Union

  • Europe.
  • Europe refers to the continent that spreads from Iceland to Istanbul.
  • The European Union is a confederation (or a group) of 28 member countries in Europe, started in 1957.
  • The European Union has its own flag, complete with twelve stars.
  • The European Union has a motto.

What did the European Parliament do?

What does the European Parliament do? The European Parliament has 3 roles: It debates legislation. It can pass or reject laws, and it can also make amendments (but not in all cases).

How big is the European Parliament?

The Parliament is composed of 705 members (MEPs). It represents the second-largest democratic electorate in the world (after the Parliament of India) with an electorate of 375 million eligible voters in 2009.

Why was the European Parliament created?

The aim of this new treaty was to reform the institutional structure of the EU so that it could withstand the challenges of future enlargement. Parliament’s legislative and supervisory powers were increased and qualified majority voting was extended to more areas in the Council (1.1. 4).

Why does the EU have 12 stars?

The European flag symbolises both the European Union and, more broadly, the identity and unity of Europe. It features a circle of 12 gold stars on a blue background. They stand for the ideals of unity, solidarity and harmony among the peoples of Europe.

Is the European Parliament elected?

Elections to the European Parliament take place every five years by universal adult suffrage; with more than 400 million people eligible to vote, they are considered the second largest democratic elections in the world after India’s.

How is European Parliament elected?

Where does the European Parliament meet?

Strasbourg, France
The European Parliament meets annually for about 12 one-week plenary sessions in Strasbourg, France.

Why is the EU flag blue?

How many members are in the European Parliament?

With effect from the elections held in May 2014 the number had risen to 751. This has been reduced to 705 members after the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union in January 2020, with each member state now having at least six and at most 96 MEPs.