Does China have states or provinces?

Does China have states or provinces?

The People’s Republic of China has 31 provinces, municipalities, and autonomous regions.

What meaning is province?

Definition of province 1a : a country or region brought under the control of the ancient Roman government. b : an administrative district or division of a country. c provinces plural : all of a country except the metropolises.

Are there 22 or 23 provinces in China?

China is governed as 22 provinces, five “autonomous” regions, four municipalities – considered so important they are under central government control (Beijing, Shanghai, Tianjin and Chongqing) – and two special administrative regions.

What are states called in China?

There are 34 such divisions claimed by the People’s Republic of China, classified as 23 provinces (Chinese: 省; pinyin: shěng), five autonomous regions, four municipalities and two special administrative regions.

Is Shanghai a province or city?

Shanghai, also spelled Shang-hai, city and province-level shi (municipality), east-central China. It is one of the world’s largest seaports and a major industrial and commercial centre of China. Skyline of Shanghai, China.

Is Tibet a province?

The Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR) or Xizang Autonomous Region, often shortened to Tibet or Xizang, is a province-level autonomous region of the People’s Republic of China in Southwest China….Tibet Autonomous Region.

Chinese 西藏
Hanyu Pinyin Xīzàng
Literal meaning “Western Tsang”

Does Hong Kong have provinces?

Hong Kong in administration is divided into 3 regions and 18 districts. The 3 regions are: Hong Kong Island (HK), Kowloon (KLN), and the New Territories (NT). The population density per district varies from 825 (Islands) to 56,779 (Kwun Tong) per km2.

Does America have provinces?

In addition to the 50 states and federal district, the United States has sovereignty over 14 territories. Five of them (American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) have a permanent, nonmilitary population, while nine of them do not.

Is Wan Chai a province?

Wan Chai is a metropolitan area situated at the western part of the Wan Chai District on the northern shore of Hong Kong Island, in Hong Kong….

Wan Chai
Literal meaning “small bay” or “cove”

Why is Hong Kong called Hong Kong?

An ancient trade in fragrant incense holds the answer to how the city earned its name. The name Hong Kong is actually a phonetic translation of the city’s Cantonese name 香港 (heung gong), which literally means “Fragrant Harbour”.

Which Chinese province has the largest population?

Yunnan Province, China from October 11 to 15, 2021. During the meeting, Yang Xiaojun, a researcher from the Bird Group of Kunming Institute of Zoology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, introduced that, with great efforts, not only has the wild population of

What are some Chinese province names?


  • Tianjin
  • Hebei Province
  • Shanxi Province
  • Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region. In addition to villages,a gaqa ( 嘎查,ᠭᠠᠴᠠᠭ᠎ᠠ) is another type of fifth-level administrative division,found only in Inner Mongolia; the name is derived from
  • Liaoning Province
  • Jilin Province
  • Heilongjiang Province
  • Shanghai Municipality
  • Jiangsu Province
  • What are the characteristics of Chinese provinces?

    23 Provinces

  • 5 Autonomous Regions
  • 4 Municipalities
  • 2 Special Administrative Regions
  • What are the names of the Chinese provinces?


  • Introduction.
  • Methods and data sources.
  • Results and discussion.
  • Conclusions and policy implications.
  • Data availability.
  • Funding.
  • Author information.
  • Ethics declarations.
  • Additional information.