Who won the Grey Cup in 1984?

Who won the Grey Cup in 1984?

the Winnipeg Blue Bombers
The 72nd Grey Cup was the 1984 Canadian Football League championship game, played at Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton between the Winnipeg Blue Bombers and the Hamilton Tiger-Cats. The Blue Bombers dominated the Tiger-Cats in a 47–17 victory.

How many GREY cups have the Winnipeg Blue Bombers won?

12 championships
The Winnipeg Blue Bombers have a long and storied history that includes 26 trips to the Grey Cup and 12 championships.

When did Winnipeg win the Grey Cup?

Winnipeg Blue Bombers in the 1980s In 1984, the team again tasted victory, beating the powerhouse BC Lions in the West final, and then the Hamilton Tiger-Cats in the Grey Cup, 47–17. Quarterback Tom Clements and linebacker Tyrone Jones were named the game’s most valuable players.

Who won the Grey Cup in 1935?

The Winnipeg Football Club
On a chilly Saturday, December 7, 1935, a new era in Canadian Football began after a game held at icebound Civic Stadium in Hamilton, Ontario. The Winnipeg Football Club smashed Eastern Canada’s domination of the national championship Grey Cup trophy when it defeated the then Hamilton Tigers by a score of 18-12.

Who has the longest Grey Cup drought?

Hamilton owns the longest championship drought with their last Grey Cup win coming in 1999. Since 1980, this will be the third time that the same two coaches have met in consecutive Grey Cup games.

Has any CFL team won three GREY Cups in a row?

A recent CFL article by Ed Tait passingly mentioned that in terms of recent Dynasties at least, “It’s difficult enough in the CFL to repeat as Grey Cup champions – only the 1996-97 Toronto Argonauts and 2009-10 Montreal Alouettes have been able to do so since the end of Edmonton’s run of five straight titles in 1982.”.

Who is the only non Canadian team to win the Grey Cup?

The game has never been held outside of Canada, but the American-based Baltimore Stallions appeared in it twice, winning once. Although the first Grey Cup game was in 1909, there were none from 1916 to 1919, so the 2012 Grey Cup was the 100th. This was played on November 25, 2012, at the Rogers Centre in Toronto.

Who is the best CFL quarterback of all time?

1. Doug Flutie, Quarterback. Although Flutie may not be at the top of all the record books since he only played eight seasons in the CFL, he is arguably the best player ever. The one record he does hold: passing yards in a season with 6,619 in 1991.

Who is the best CFL player right now?

TORONTO — After winning the league’s Most Outstanding Player in 2021, Zach Collaros has been named the top player in the CFL on TSN’s annual top 50 players list.

What happened in the 1984 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Grey Cup?

The 1984 Winnipeg Blue Bombers finished in 2nd place in the West Division with an 11–4–1 record. They closed out the season by winning the Grey Cup 47–17 over the Hamilton Tiger-Cats.

When was the last time the Blue Bombers won the Grey Cup?

The Blue Bombers lived the life of rock stars after capturing the 1984 Grey Cup, as it had been 22 years since their 1962 victory and 19 years since the team’s last appearance in the championship. And so, when the team returned home from the first-ever Grey Cup played in Edmonton, they were greeted like conquering heroes.

How many Grey Cups did the Bombers win in 1958?

Of the four Grey Cups the Bombers would win over a five-year span from 1958-62, most of those involve savour the 1958 championship the most. “Winnipeg hadn’t won a Grey Cup in 18 years,” said Bombers coach Bud Grant.

What was the first Grey Cup to be decided in overtime?

As the game wore on the Bombers grew stronger. And when Gerry James slammed home from three yards out in the fourth quarter, the game was sent into extra time – the first Grey Cup to be decided in overtime.